Errata to PoG Deluxe, 6" ed. — January 8, 2022

(Additions since previous errata of May 19, 2020)

2.3 The Strategy Cards - Note: Update:

"Variant cards" to "Optional cards".

2.3 The Strategy Cards

Each player has his own deck of 63 Strategy cards, subdivided
into three groups: 14 Mobilization cards, 20 Limited War cards,
and 21 Total War cards. Each side also has 10 Optional cards.
Mote that the card banners for the Optional cards are colored
differently than those on the basic cards.

Note: Theards are not part of the basic game.

5.7.4 Scenario Specific Rules #7: Add a sentence:

"The event is applied first, then the card can be used for Ops".

7. The following cards may double as OPS when played as
Events: Lanpsuips, ZIMMERMANN TELEGRAM, OVER
THERE, TsaArR TaAkes CoMMaND, FALL oF THE TSAR,
Bovrsuevik RevorLution. The yellow stripe on these cards
1s a reminder that the event also generates Ops.

9.5.3.3 Reinforcement Event Cards: Update last paragraph:
"Reinforcing Armies must be in supply when placed." to

"Reinforcing Armies must be in supply and in a friendly-controlled space when placed."

Reinforcing Armies must be in supply when placed|In cases
where more than one Reinforcing army 1s entered on a single
card play, the two armies do not have to enter at the same space.
However, if stacking limits would not allow both armies to be
placed on the map, the reinforcement card may not be played.

11.1.4 Dashed Connections: Modify the end of the 1%t sentence from:

"...which nationalities may move (or attack) across those lines." to

"...which nationalities may move, attack, advance, retreat, SR or trace supply across those lines."
« and modify the 3 sentence from

"For example, only a British unit may move (or attack) between London and Calais." to

"For example, using the dashed connections, only British units may move, attack, advance, retreat, SR or trace
supply between London and Calais."

. and add the last sentence at the end:

"AUS, CND and PT Corps are British for dashed line purposes, not the ANA Corp."

11.1.4 Dashed Connections: Dashed lines indicate there are

restrictions as to which nationalities ma.:rlmm-e (or atrackjl

actoss those lines, The untts which can use each dotted line 15

mdicat 1 e line. For example, only a
Erm'.:lrf.nfr may move (oF a.'m:.l'jiﬁam'een London and Calais.
However, all friendly spaces are allowed to trace supply during
the Attrition Phase across friendly dashed lines. | |




11.3.2 Near East Map Movement Restrictions: Update the paragraph to include 'retreat or attack/advance":

"11.3.2 Only one Russian Corp per turn may either move or retreat or attack/advance in either direction
between the “Caucasus” space and the Near East (Grozny and Poti). A Russian Army (including RU CAU) is
never allowed to make this move, retreat or attack/advance. After the Fall of the Tsar event, no Russian unit
may move, retreat or attack/advance between the “Caucasus” space and the Near East, although one Corp
may still SR between the “Caucasus” space and the Near East per turn. See also 13.2.2.

For example, if a Russian Corp unit attacked then advanced between the "Caucasus" space and Poti, then
no other Russian Corp could move, retreat or attack/advance for the remainder of the turn in either direction
between the “Caucasus” space and the Near East (Grozny and Poti).

11.3.2 Only one Russian Corps per turn mayin either
direction between the “Caucasus” space and the Near East
(Grozny and Poti). A Russian Army (including RU CAU) is
never allowed to make thismove| After the FALL OF THE TSAR
event, no Russian unit maybetween the “Caucasus” space
and the Near East, although one Corps may still SR between the
“Caucasus” space and the Near East per turn. See also 13.2.2.

12.2.4 Play Trench Negating Combat: Add a Note after the second 2" sentence (with the events in event font
and bolded):

"Note: The Brusilov Offensive attack that negates a trench can be used against a space without a trench
marker and this attack is considered used regardless of whether Turk Determination is played as a defensive
combat card or not".

12.2.4 Play Trench Negating Combat: The Attacker may play
Combat Card Events that negate enemy trenches for purposes
of the combat. | ]

12.3.1 Flank Attacks - Note: Update:
"Flank attempts may be made if certain CP combat cards which..." to

"Flank attempts may be made if certain combat cards and events which...".

12.3.1 The Aitacker may attempt a Flank Attack if all the fol-

lowing conditions apply:

* Units are attacking from two or more spaces, and

= at least one Army 1s attacking, and

* the defending space i1s not Swamp or Mountain, does not
contain a Trench marker, and 1s not an unoccupied fort.

Note: Flank attempts may be made if certain

‘cancel all trench effects™ are used in the combat. pro-
vided all of the other conditions are still met.

12.3.3 Flank Attacks: Update:
“...resolve steps 6 through 8...” to
“...resolve steps 6 through 9...".

12.3.3 The attacking player rolls one die to determine the suc-
cess of the Flank Attack Attempt. If the modified die roll 1s 4 or
higher, the Flank Attack succeeds and the Attacker will resolve
stepefnre the Defender. This means the Defender’s
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13.2.3 Near East SR Restrictions - Exception: Update:

"Turkish Corps do not count against this limit." to

"Turkish Armies and Corps do not count against this limit."
13.2.3 No more than one CP Corps may SR to or from the Near
East map per turn. Exception: |Turkish Corps|do not count
against this limit. This limit does not apply to CP units that SR
solely within the Near East Map.

13.1.11 Capitals and SR: Update end of first sentence:
"...from the Reserve Box as long as the enemy control lasts." to

"...from the Reserve Box as long as the enemy control or siege lasts.”

13.1.11 Capitals and SR: If the enemy controls or besieges a
nation’s capital (Paris in the case of France, Vienna or Budapest
in the case of A-H), no Corps of that nation may SR to or from
the Reserve Box as long as the enemy control|lasts. |

14.1.3 Supply Path Restrictions: Update 3" bullet:
"dashed lines across which the tracing unit could not move." to

"dashed lines across which the tracing unit's nationality could not move."

14.1.3 Supply Path Restrictions: A Supply Path, excluding

the space containing the unit tracing supply, may not be traced
through:

* aspace containing an enemy unit.
* an enemy controlled space. Exception: A plaver may trace
supply through a space containing a besieged enemy fort.

+ | dashed lines across which the tracing unit could not move. |
Exception: RU, RO and SB units may trace supply over the
dashed lines connected to Russian supply sources.

14.1.5 Always in Supply: Update the 3™ bullet:

"The Montenegrin, British ANA, and Turkish SN units. When operating outside the NE, ANA and the SN unit
must trace supply normally." to

"The Montenegrin, British ANA and Turkish SN units, and the spaces these units occupy. When operating
outside the Near East map, the ANA and SN units and the spaces they occupy, must trace supply normally.

I The Montenegrin, British ANA, and Turkish SN units [When
operating outside the NE. ANA and the SN unit must trace

supply normally.

14.3.4 Out of Supply Effects: Add a 2nd sentence:

"Supplied defending units stacked with OOS units may not receive the benefit of any Combat Event Cards."

14.3.4 O0S defending units may not receive the benefit of any
Combat Event Cards. |




There is a discrepancy between the victory point spaces used in the example of play steps, which uses the
classic map, compared to the example of play map shown in the rulebook which uses the new historical map.

Extended Example of Play

This extended example of play will demonstrate how many of the
game s mechanics work and may give you some initial strategy
ideas. This game-playing was conducted by email between
Gene Billingsley, as the Allied player, and Andy Lewis (the
game’s developer), as the Central Powers. Neither player was
an expert on strategy, as the comments provided by Ted Raicer
(the game s designer) will show. The idea is to give you a feel
Jor the game and all the different choices there are to make and
decide between. We suggest that you set the game up and move
the pieces on your map as you read the exampfe‘l_:l
A Note on Notations: A veferenced unit is at full strength in this
example unless its name is enclosed in parentheses [e.g., “FR

Pg. 28, 15t Paragraph: Add the sentence:

The 2nd and 3rd GE Armies advance into Sedan (th
advance further because Sedan is a Forest space).

Pg. 29 Central Powers Action 2, 2" paragraph: Update:
"...control Lodz, move the VP marker to the 11 box." to

"...control Lodz, move the VP marker to the 12 box."

Pg. 29 Central Powers Action 2, last paragraph: Update:
"The VP marker is moved to 12." to

"The VP marker is moved to 13."

Pg. 29 Allied Action 2, 4" paragraph: Add the sentence:

"The VP marker is moved to 12.", after "This satisfies the French MO."

Pg. 27 Extended Example of Play, 15t paragraph: Add to the end of the paragraph:

"The following extended example of play is using the historical map for Victory Point purposes."

"The VP marker is moved to 11.", after "The 2" and 3" GE Armies advance in Sedan (they can't advance
further because Sedan is a Forest space).”

can’t

Move the (GE Corps) from Oppeln to Czestochowa [place a
Central Powers control marker as the unit exits the space] to
Lodz. As the Central Powers now control Lodz, move the VP
| marker to the 11 box. |

The GE 3rd Army advances into Cambrai [The GE 2nd Army
can’t advance because it’s reduced]. The VP marker is moved

The Central Powers die roll 1s 3 that on the 3 column gives a
Loss Number of 2. The Allied losses nothing since their lowest
LF 3 which is higher than their Loss Number, The F
advances into Sedan. This satisfies the French MO.

R 3rd Arm
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Pg. 30 Central Powers Action 3, 6" paragraph: Add the sentence:
"The VP marker is moved to 12.", after "The GE 3™ Army in Cambrai is back in supply."

The GE 4th Army advances into Sedan. The GE 3rd Army in
Cambrat is back in supply.l I

Pg. 31 Allied Action 6, 2" paragraph: Update:

"Move the VP marker down to 10." to
"Move the VP marker down to 11.".

Move the (RU 3rd Army) from Tarnopol to Lemberg. Move the
VP marker down to 10/Move the FR Corps in Grenoble to Parts.

Pg. 31 Central Powers Action 2, 2"d paragraph: Update:
"Move VP marker to the 11 box." to
"Move VP marker to the 12 box.".
Central Powers Action 2
Play Rexcastac Truce (Central Powers Card #9) as an Event.

IMove VP marker to the 11 box.|Move the Central Powers War
Status marker to the 4 box; the Central Powers are now free to

Pg. 32: Central Powers Action 6, last paragraph, 15t sentence: Update:
"The GE 5" Army is reduced and the 3™ and 6" Armies advance." to

"The GE 5" Army is reduced and the (GE Corps) is eliminated. The 3 and 6™ Armies advance."

I The GE 5th Army is reduced and the 5rd and 6th Armies advance.
& 11ench marker 15 femoved and a Besieged marker 15 placed.

Pg. 33: September 1914 — War Status: First remove the 3™ and 4™ sentence, then update the paragraph
to:

"The Central Powers enters Limited War, bringing Turkey into the conflict. Turkish units are placed on the
map. The Central Powers player adds his Limited War cards to his Draw Pile."

September 1914 - War Status Phase

The Central Powers enters Limited War, bringing Turkey into the
conflict. The Turkish units are placed on the map. The Central
Powers discard the SEVERE WEATHER CC (Central Powers Card
#4) that was still in their hand. They then shuffle all the Mobili-
zation cards (except Guns oF AuGust, OBEROST, REICHSTAG
Truck, and LANDWEHR) and the Limited War cards together
to form a new Draw Pile.




Pg. 33: September 1914 - Draw Strategy Card Phase, 2"9 paragraph: Update the paragraph to:

"The Central Powers discards the Severe Weather CC (Central Powers Card #4) that was still in their hand.
They then shuffle all the Mobilization cards (except Guns of August, OberOst, Reichstag Truce, and
Landwehr) and the Limited War cards together to form a new Draw Pile. The Central Powers draws 7

cards."
September 1914 - Draw Strategy Card Phase

The Allies discard a CC, reshuffle their mobilization cards (ex-
cept the removed events) and draws 7 cards.

| The Central Powers draws 7 cards. |

Pg. 39 Index: Supply: Out-of-Supply (OOS): Add 9.2.4, between 3.0 and 14.3.

14112
Out-of-Supply (00S) o 3.0[ ]143

On POG PAC-3 2018: War Status Track chart: Update: Telgram to Telegram
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On AP_DECK-Sep8 AP#9 Moltke: Update: Eleventh Army to 11" Army

May only be played in August or
September 1914
CP Activation in Belgium or
France costs 1 OPS per unit (not
space) until the “Falkenhayn”
card is played. All units must be
activated in a space.

orsedes Sud Army and
: rmy card effects.

BR:1 FR:1 IT:1 RU:2



On POG_ExpDeck-Sep8 AP#63 Backs to the Wall: Update 1%t sentence:
"A space with a BR Army in France/Belgium may cancel any one mandated retreat." to

"A space with a BR Army in France/Belgium must cancel a retreat if mandated by the combat results."

BACKS TO THE WALL* CC

A space with a BR Army in
France/Belgium may cancel
any one mandated retreat

This CC 1s permanently discarded
regardless of whether a retreat is
mandated by the combat results.

BR:1 FR:1 IT:1 RU:2

POG Classic Map: Updates to the Classic map:

*  Central Power Reserve Box: Update German 7 Corps to 8 Corps.

Central Power Res
=7 | =

* Allied Reserve Box: Update Russian 6 Corps to 5 Corps
Box

Russian

* Inthe Verona, Asiago, Maggiore and Udine spaces remove Trench 1.




+ Deluxe Edition Counters sheet #1 back: Update Turkish SN Corp from "0-1-3" to "0-1-1"

*+ POG Deluxe Map: Updates to the Historical map:

+ Allied Reserve Box: Update SE to SB
e

2 Corps



