Errata to PoG Deluxe, 6" ed. — May 19, 2020

e 2.3 Note: Update:
"Variant cards" to "Optional cards".

2.3 The Strategy Cards

Each player has his own deck of 65 Strategy cards, subdivided
into three growps: 14 Mobilization cards, 20 Limited War cards,
and 21 Total War cards. Each side also has 10 Optional cards.
MNote that the card banners for the Optional cards are colored
differently than those on the basic cards.

Note: Thea:rds are not part of the basic game.

e 5.7.4#7: Add a sentence:
"The event is applied first, then the card can be used for Ops".
7. The following cards may double as OPS when played as
Events: LANDsHIPS, ZIMMERMANN TELEGRAM, OVER
THERE, TsAR TAKEs CoMMAND, FALL OF THE TSAR,
BoLsHEVIK REvoLuTION. The yellow stripe on these cards
is a reminder that the event also generates Ops.

e 9.5.3.3: Update last paragraph:
"Reinforcing Armies must be in supply when placed." to
"Reinforcing Armies must be in supply and in a friendly-controlled space when placed."

Reinforcing Armies must be in supply when placed|In cases
where more than one Reintorcing army 1s entered on a single
card play, the two armies do not have to enter at the same space.
However, if stacking limits would not allow both armies to be
placed on the map, the reinforcement card may not be played.

e 11.1.4: Modify the end of the 1% sentence from:
"...which nationalities may move (or attack) across those lines." to
"...which nationalities may move, attack, advance, retreat, SR or trace supply across those lines."
and modify the 3 sentence from
"For example, only a British unit may move (or attack) between London and Calais." to
"For example using the dashed connections, only British units may move, attack, advance, retreat, SR or trace supply
between London and Calais."

11.1.4 Dashed Connections: Dashed lines indicate there are
restrictions as to which nationalities may|move (or attack)
across those lines. The units which can use each dotted line 1z
indica i the line. For example, only a
Britishlnit may move (or attack)|between London and Calais.
However, ﬁ'1ea1cﬂ}' spaces are allowed to trace supply during
the Attrition Phase across friendly dashed lines.

e 12.2.4: Add a Note after the second 2" sentence (with the events in event font and bolded):
"Note: The Brusilov Offensive attack that negates a trench can be used against a space without a trench marker and
this attack is considered used regardless of whether Turk Determination is played as a defensive combat card or not".

12.2.4 Play Trench Negating Combat: The Attacker may play
Combat Card Events that negate enemy trenches for purposes
of the combat. | |




e 12.3.1 Note: Update:
"Flank attempts may be made if certain CP combat cards which..." to
"Flank attempts may be made if certain combat cards and events which...".

12.3.1 The Attacker may attempt a Flank Attack if all the fol-

lowing conditions apply:

» Units are attacking from two or more spaces, and

* at least one Army is attacking, and

¢ the defending space 1s not Swamp or Mountain. does not
contain a Trench marker, and is not an unoccupied fort.

Note: Flank attempts may be made if ce: --
which [‘cancel all trench effects™ are used 1n the combat, pro-
vided all of the other conditions are still met.

e 12.3.3: Update:
“...resolve steps 6 through 8...
“...resolve steps 6 through 9...".

”»

to

12.3.3 The attacking player rolls one die to determine the suc-
cess of the Flank Attack Attempt. If the modified die roll 1s 4 or
higher, the Flank Attack succeeds and the Attacker will resolve

ﬂepefore the Defender. This means the Defender’s

- atm a4 a-

e 13.2.3 Exception: Update:
"Turkish Corps do not count against this limit." to
"Turkish Armies and Corps do not count against this limit."

13.2.3 No more than one CP Corps may SR to or from the Near
East map per turn. Exception:do not count
against this limit. This limit does not apply to CP units that SR
solely within the Near East Map.

e 13.1.11 Capitals and SR: Update end of first sentence:
"...from the Reserve Box as long as the enemy control lasts." to
"...from the Reserve Box as long as the enemy control or siege lasts.”

13.1.11 Capitals and SR: If the enemy controls or besieges a
nation’s capital (Paris in the case of France, Vienna or Budapest
in the case of A-H), no Corps of that nation may SR to or from
the Reserve Box as long as the enemy control[lasts. ]

e 14.1.3 Supply Path Restrictions: Update 3" bullet:
"dashed lines across which the tracing unit could not move." to
"dashed lines across which the tracing unit's nationality could not move."

14.1.3 Supply Path Restrictions: A Supply Path, excluding

the space containing the unit tracing supply. may not be traced
through:

* aspace containing an enemy unit.

* an enemy controlled space. Exception: A player may trace
supply through a space containing a besieged enemy fort.

« | dashed lines across which the tracing unit could not move. |

Exception: RU, RO and SB units may trace supply over the

dashed lines connected to Russian supply sources.




There is a discrepancy between the victory point spaces used in the example of play steps, which uses the classic map,
compared to the example of play map shown in the rulebook which uses the new historical map.

o Pg. 27 Extended Example of Play, 15t paragraph: Add to the end of the paragraph:
"The following extended example of play is using the historical map for Victory Point purposes."

Extended Example of Play

This extended example of play will demonstrate how many of the
game s mechanies work and may give you some initial strategy
ideas. This game-playing was conducted by email between
Gene Billingsley, as the Allied player, and Andy Lewis (the
game’s developer), as the Central Powers. Neither player was
an expert on strategy, as the comments provided by Ted Raicer
(the game's designer) will show. The idea is to give you a feel
Jor the game and all the different choices there are to make and
decide between. e suggest that you set the game ug and move

the pieces on your map as you read the example.

A Note on Notations: A referenced unit is at full strength in this
example unless its name is enclosed in parentheses [e.g.,, “FR

o Pg. 28, 15t Paragraph: Add the sentence:
"The VP marker is moved to 11.", after "The 2" and 3"d GE Armies advance in Sedan (they can't advance further
because Sedan is a Forest space)."

The 2nd and 3rd GE Armies advance into Sedan (they can’t
advance further because Sedan is a Forest space).

o Pg. 29 Central Powers Action 2, 2" paragraph: Update:
"...control Lodz, move the VP marker to the 11 box." to
"...control Lodz, move the VP marker to the 12 box."

Move the (GE Corps) from Oppeln to Czestochowa [place a

Central Powers control marker as the unit exits the space] to

Lodz. As the Central Powers now control Lodz, move the VP
| marker to the 11 box. |

o Pg. 29 Central Powers Action 2, last paragraph: Update:
"The VP marker is moved to 12." to
"The VP marker is moved to 13."

The GE 3rd Army advances into Cambrai [The GE 2nd Army
can’t advance because it's reduced]. The VP marker is moved

o Pg.29 Allied Action 2, 4" paragraph: Add the sentence:
"The VP marker is moved to 12.", after "This satisfies the French MO."

The Central Powers die roll is 3 that on the 3 column gives a
Loss Number of 2. The Allied losses nothing since their lowest
LF 3 which is higher than their Loss Number. The FR 3rd Arm
advances into Sedan. This satisfies the French MO, I:Ll

o Pg. 30 Central Powers Action 3, 6" paragraph: Add the sentence:
"The VP marker is moved to 12.", after "The GE 3™ Army in Cambrai is back in supply."

The GE 4th Army advances into Sedan. The GE 3rd Army in
Cambrai is back in supply. |




Pg. 31 Allied Action 6, 2" paragraph: Update:
"Move the VP marker down to 10." to
"Move the VP marker down to 11.".

Move the (RU 3rd Army) from Tarnopol to Lemberg, Move the
VP marker down to 10|Move the FR. Corps in Grenoble to Paris.
o Pg. 31 Central Powers Action 2, 2" paragraph: Update:

"Move VP marker to the 11 box." to
"Move VP marker to the 12 box.".

[¢]

Central Powers Action 2
Play Rexcustac Truce (Central Powers Card #9) as an Event.

IMove VP marker to the 11 box.IMove the Central Powers War
Status marker to the 4 box; the Central Powers are now free to

o Pg. 32: Central Powers Action 6, last paragraph, 15t sentence: Update:
"The GE 5" Army is reduced and the 3" and 6" Armies advance." to
"The GE 5" Army is reduced and the (GE Corps) is eliminated. The 3 and 6 Armies advance."

| The GE 5th Army is reduced and the 3rd and 6th Armies advance |
‘The lrench marker 15 removed and a Besieged marker 1s placed.

o Pg. 33: September 1914 — War Status: First remove the 3 and 4™ sentence, then update the paragraph to:
"The Central Powers enters Limited War, bringing Turkey into the conflict. Turkish units are placed on the map. The
Central Powers player adds his Limited War cards to his Draw Pile."

September 1914 - War Status Phase

The Central Powers enters Limited War, bringing Turkey into the
conflict. The Turkish units are placed on the map. The Central
Powers discard the SEveEre WEeaTHER CC (Central Powers Card
#4) that was still in their hand. They then shuffle all the Mobili-
zation cards (except Guns oF AuGust, OBEROsT, REICHSTAG
Truck, and LAxpweHR) and the Limited War cards together
to form a new Draw Pile.

o Pg. 33: September 1914 - Draw Strategy Card Phase, 2" paragraph: Update the paragraph to:
"The Central Powers discards the Severe Weather CC (Central Powers Card #4) that was still in their hand. They
then shuffle all the Mobilization cards (except Guns of August, OberOst, Reichstag Truce, and Landwehr) and the
Limited War cards together to form a new Draw Pile. The Central Powers draws 7 cards."”

September 1914 - Draw Strategy Card Phase

The Allies discard a CC, reshuffie their mobilization cards (ex-
cept the removed events) and draws 7 cards.

| The Central Powers draws 7 cards. |

Pg. 39 Index: Supply: Out-of-Supply (OOS): Add 9.2.4, between 3.0 and 14.3.

SUPDY 140
Activation ... 14111
Always i Supply ... 1415
Combat:oyocomaapernpe e T 14112
Out-of-Supply (00S) ... 3 OD 143

On POG PAC-3 2018: War Status Track chart: Update: Telgram to Telegram
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e On AP_DECK-Sep8 AP#9 Moltke: Update: Eleventh Army to 11" Army

MOLTKE*

May only be played in August or
September 1914.

CP Activation in Belgium or
France costs 1 OPS per unit (not
space) until the “Falkenhayn”
card is played. All units must be
activated in a space.

D des Sud Army and
army card effects.

BR:1 FR:1 IT:1 RU:2

e On POG_ExpDeck-Sep8 AP#63 Backs to the Wall: Update:

"A space with a BR Army in France/Belgium may cancel any one mandated retreat." to
"A space with a BR Army in France/Belgium must cancel a mandated retreat.”

I 63 Optional

BACKS TO THE WALL* CC
A space with a BR Army in
France/Belgium may cancel
any one mandated retreat.
This CC 1s permanently discarded
regardless of whether a retreat is
mandated by the combat results.

BR:1 FR:1 IT:1 RU:2

e POG MAP_Legacy-Sep9_2018: Updates to the Classic map:

@)

@)

Central Power Reserve Box: Update German 7 Corps to 8 Corps.

Central Power Res

—

4 Corps 7 Corps

Allied Reserve Box: Update Russian 6 Corps to 5 Corps

Box

Russian



o Inthe Verona, Asiago, Maggiore and Udine spaces remove Trench 1.

-

Udine‘

e Deluxe Edition Counters sheet #1 back: Update Turkish SN Corp from "0-1-3" to "0-1-1"




