Rules Comparisons

I’m going to use this post to capture rules differences between the L2 version of the game and the Compass edition.  Feel free to post your comments with other rules differences you’ve come across!

  • ZOCs – PA subunits now have ZOCs.  (p. 5)
  • Road jumping – bullet 3 was added to 9.7 to force a retreating unit to retreat to a supply road if that was a viable route.  (p. 8)
  • Retreat restrictions:  9.7.  The restriction against retreating into an enemy occupied hex has been removed in the Compass rules.  Being able to retreat into enemy leader spaces (no ZOC) thus is no longer explicitly illegal.  (p. 8).
  • Peiper Alternative – Item #10 is new, Peiper ER benefit exists regardless of the number of PA units are in the hex.  (p.17)
  • Peiper Alternative – leader rule section, item #6, Peiper can stack with other leaders.  (p. 17)
  • Example of play #1 is wrong.  Hex 1601 is also a valid retreat path. (p. 20)
  • Example of play #3 is wrong.  A D4 result must result in 4/12 ending up on 2032, 2133, or 2233, per bullet 3 of 9.7.  (p. 20)

2 thoughts on “Rules Comparisons

  1. Ed Witkowski

    A few comments:
    Item 1. Peiper Alternative units have a ZOC only in the hex they occupy. Rule 36.9
    Item 6. The top example, #1 on page 20 is incorrect and will be corrected in the next reprint of the Compass game.

  2. Tom Gregorio Post author

    I’ll have to disagree with your interpretation of 36.9, Ed, when we’re talking about individual PA units. 36.9 specifically says the ZOC is created when the PA 3rd SS PzG unit is stacked with another PA unit. No reference is made in the Compass rules that individual PA units have ZOCs in their own space. Individual PA units not having ZOCs in their own spaces does have some potentially significant implications. Example: Supply and retreat route tracing.

    Reference: “36.9 A PA KG Peiper unit does not have a ZOC unless stacked with the PA 3rd SS PzGr Battalion. The 3rd SS PzGr Battalion does not have its own ZOC; it only serves to create a ZOC when it is in the same hex with one or both of the other PA KG Peiper units.”


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *