BWD Frequently Asked Questions

Over the years, numerous questions have surfaced regarding the playing of BWD.  Below are a tabulation of these questions.  It is important to note that there are some rulings that will have changed as a result of rules changes with the Compass Edition of the game and at some point this list will be reviewed and updated.

Number Category Question Answer
103 2.1 The Map Shouldn’t a bridge hex exist between hexes 2902 and 3001? Yes.
6 5.3 Terrain Effects on Movement Does a unit pay 1 MP to enter a town if entering from a road hex connected to that town? As with other terrain, you may enter a town hex along a road utilizing the road movement rate. (CSW/BW 30)
84 5.3 Terrain Effects on Movement When crossing a blown bridge hexside, what is the cost of moving into the hex beyond it: the cost of the terrain of the hex, or the cost of road movement? The cost of the terrain. Per 5.3, road movement is accomplished by moving units through connecting road hexes.
37 5.4 Army Boundaries Why are the army boundaries not extended to the map edges? Purely an issue of esthetics. (CS/BW 422)
57 5.4 Army Boundaries Does the army boundary extend east? Yes. (0914,0813,0714,0613,0612,0513,0412,0313,0213,0114)
99 5.4 Army Boundaries Is the Luftwaffe’s 5/15 Pzg regiment subject to the Army Boundary restriction? Yes, the German 7th Army is subject to the boundary restrictions.
122 5.4 Army Boundaries Are German leaders subject to the army boundary movement restrictions? No
124 5.4 Army Boundaries May German units retreat across the army boundary if they normally can’t move across it? Yes, but they must cross back over, ASAP.
67 5.4 Army Boundary Which roads does the army boundary use beyond those marked on the map? Follow the red dotted Army Boundary Line to LaRoche – Marche – Namur. (CS/BW #608)
107 5.4 Army Boundary How does the army boundary extend beyond the red line printed on the map?

As per rule(5.4),we have interpreted the continuation of the Army Boundary to run to.Is this correct? A)I felt it would spoil the aesthetics to run the red line across the entire map.In most games,assuming experienced Allied play and average die rolls,the German player should not be west of the printed Army Boundary prior to 19AM.Your interpretation of the Army Boundary extension is acceptable.

The boundary extends through LaRoche, Hotton, Marche, 3916, 4216, Dinant, and finally to 5518.
104 5.5 Exiting the Map Per rule 5.5, may an Allied unit that begins the turn at hex 1401 with German units in 1402 and 1502,exit the map? Technically this unit is in supply, but he is now cut-off from the main front and behind enemy lines. No. It may not voluntarily exit the map as the unit is in supply.
9 7. Zones of Control Rule 7.3 says: the presence of a ZOC is never affected by enemy or friendly units. Then rule 12.2 contradicts this rule by saying: supply may not be traced through enemy ZOCs unless the ZOC is occupied by a friendly unit. Also rule 24.2 Leader range says: …unless the ZOC is occupied by a friendly unit. Rule 7.3 simply means that the ZOC exists in a hex adjacent to a combat (non-artillery) unit, regardless of the presence of an enemy unit. For supply purposes the ZOC still exists but the supply line can be traced through a friendly unit. These really aren’t inconsistent. Note that the ZOC still stops retreats even if occupied by a friendly unit. (CSW/BW 73)
125 8. Improved Positions & Fortifications May a unit build a fort or improved position if an adjacent enemy unit is driven away during the combat phase? No.
125 8. Improved Positions & Fortifications May a unit build a fort or improved position if an adjacent enemy unit is driven away during the combat phase? No.
86 8.1 Improved Positions Does the countermix limit the number of improved positions you can build? No.
40 8.2 Fortifications Can leaders build fortifications? No. As per 8.2 Fortifications, “A supplied mechanized or supplied non-mechanized Allied unit may create a fortification…” Referencing 2.5 Unit Types, “All ground units belong to one of four categories: mechanized, non-mechanized, artillery, and leaders.” (CS/BW #448)
3 9.1 Combat, In General Can a stack of units in one hex attack more than one defending hex? Yes.
21 9.2 Combat Procedure When a 5 strength unit is defending a town and gets supporting Arty of 5 strength, is the final defense strength 5×2+5=15 or is it 5+5 x2=20? Artillery factors are never doubled.

(CS/BW 194)

45 9.2 Combat Procedure Do terrain modifiers take precedence? Situation, combat odds are 42 to 6 (7-1) against a unit in a forest (Shift L 1 column), attacker gets SS Panzer scare and adds an air unit. Opponent states, finals odds are 6-1. This also indicates that the highest odds possible when attacking a unit defending in forest, broken, or in a town across river, are 6-1, regardless of the attacker’s strengths and modifiers (surprise, scare, and use of air units). Is this the correct interpretation? Yes. The highest odds possible in the terrain conditions described are 6-1. (CS/BW 479)
97 9.2 Combat Procedure 28 factors attack 4 factors in broken terrain. Both sides allocate ground support. What are the final odds? 5-1. The attacker allocates all DRMs and shifts prior to the defender. It is therefore impossible to attain better than 6-1 odds against a defender in forest or broken terrain
69 9.3 Endurance Bonus For purposes of determining ER advantage, does supporting artillery count? Yes. Specifically addressed in 2nd edition rules.
7 9.3 Endurance Rating (ER) Bonus When making an attack using artillery — if the artillery unit has the highest ER rating (for either side) do you use that ER rating?

For example. An attack executed with infantry that has an ER of ‘3’ and an artillery unit (not adjacent) with an ER of ‘4’. Is the ER for the attack ‘4’?

Artillery firing offensively or defensively is contributing to the battle, so it is appropriate to include their ER when determining the die

roll modifier. (CSW/BW 33)

16 9.3 Endurance Rating Bonus When is it possible to use the ER of artillery and rocket? Artillery ER is considered any time an artillery unit is contributing to a battle, be it offense or defense. (CS/BW 121)
43 9.5 Combat Results When may a defending that was “ENG” voluntarily exit its hex? A group of units under an “ENG” marker my vacate their hex when the defending hex contains no defending armored infantry or infantry units. (Since leader units may move as mech or non-mech units, they are free to leave as well.) If, as the defender, you don’t want to have your infantry or armored infantry remain in the engaged hex, consider a low odds counterattack to attempt to retreat to a more favorable position. (CS/BW 472)
68 9.5 Combat Results A German 16am attack on the 29/109 in Vianden results in an Engaged. Can the 29/109 voluntarily vacate Vianden? Unit 28/109 is infantry and “stuck in place.” If armor, armored cavalry or artillery, it could vacate the hex. (CS/BW #609)
22 9.5 Combat Results When a single unit in a stack gets an attacker retreat result, do the other units in the stack suffer? CRT results apply only to the units involved in combat. (CS/BW 194)
23 9.5 Combat Results Can an infantry unit leave an engagement voluntarily? Only armor and artillery units may leave an engagement (note that mechanized infantry is not armor). (CS/BW 194)
53 9.5 Combat Results Can any leader leave an engaged battle hex? “Leaders may move as mechanized or non-mechanized units.” Yes, they are free to ignore engaged results. (CS/BW 530)
54 9.5 Combat Results Can you shift units in an engaged battle as the attacker so they are still fighting against the same defenders? Armor may disengage from an engaged battle and shift position to participate in the original combat. (CS/BW 530)
13 9.6 Combat Losses If a retreat combat loss can’t be fulfilled (because of enemy zoc) is it treated as a DE when it comes to advance after combat? Should defending units be eliminated due to lack of a retreat route, the attacking units may advance as called for by the CRT. (CSW/BW 92)
4 9.7 Retreat After Combat Can units retreat through terrain they cannot normally move through, i.e. Armor through Dense Woods? Armor (silhouetted units) may not retreat through forest hexes unless along a road. (CSW/BW 25)
50 9.7 Retreat After Combat A retreating unit has to fulfill a D2 result. The only hex it can retreat into, not in enemy ZOC is a supply road. Per 9.7, retreat after combat, it must now ‘follow’ this supply road. If the next road hex is stacked to the limit OR occupied and in enemy ZOC, the rules imply that this unit is eliminated. Is this the case?

Alternatively, can the unit choose to go to retreat its ‘second’ hex by ‘going off the road’ towards another supply road even though it *already* occupies a supply road?

A retreating unit is eliminated by entering an enemy ZOC or ending up in an “overstacked” hex only if no alternate retreat route exists. This takes priority over retreating towards friendly supply. Retreating towards friendly supply cannot dictate a unit’s elimination if there is an alternate retreat route.
(CS/BW 508)
58 9.7 Retreat After Combat An Armor unit gets attacked suffers a retreat result. It’s only Enemy-ZOC free path includes a river (that it did not start adjacent to) hexside, can the unit retreat across the river or is it eliminated? Yes, armor may retreat across an unbridged river, except Panther, Tiger and Jagdtiger units. (CS/BW 535)
66 9.7 Retreat After Combat US armor unit in Houffalize. The bridge to the southwest is blown (leading to the road/forest hex). Can the armor unit retreat into the road/forest hex over the blown bridge)? The Yank armor may retreat across the blown bridge into a forest road hex as long as the road leads directly to the blown bridge hexside where the armor is crossing. (CS/BW 604)
76 9.7 Retreat After Combat Assume a unit receives a D2, D3, or D4 and has a clear retreat path, but would exceed its movement rating by following the path the necessary number of hexes. If there is no other retreat path available, is that unit eliminated? Movement factors are not taken into consideration when retreating. The unit would NOT be eliminated.
108 9.7 Retreat After Combat May defenders choose to retreat further than specified in order to avoid elimination due to overstacking? No.
82 9.7 Retreat After Combat Can an armor unit (non-Panther/Tiger/JagdTiger) retreat into a forest hex using a road crossing a river hexside that has a BLOWN bridge? Yes.
20 9.8 Advance After Combat If a unit enters a town crossing a river from a road hex that isn’t bridged (blown bridge) do they pay 1MP or the road rate? 1MP. The road is not continuous to be able to utilize the road movement rate. (CS/BW 177)
28 9.8 Advance After Combat If I obtain a “D2” on an attack and the defender was in a non road broken hex, may I move into that hex and then onto another, say clear, hex? Yes (regardless of enemy ZOCs).

(CS/BW 215)

29 9.8 Advance After Combat When all defenders are eliminated, can you only advance into the defender’s original hex, or can you advance further? A D4 means you can take advantage of the full advance, regardless of eliminating your opponent’s unit(s). A DE result means he put up a stiffer resistance and your advance is limited. (CS/BW 242)
78 9.8 Advance after Combat May attacking infantry (ie. non-mech) advance after combat using road rates, and therefore advance a full 4 hexes along a road after a D4 result? I would interpret the rules as allowing it. As long as you’re advancing along the road you get the road movement rate.
83 9.8 Advance After Combat Can a unit advance directly from one enemy ZOC to another? Yes, you can advance directly from one ZOC to another if the first hex is the vacated defending hex. The ZOCs may be projected by the same unit.
86 9.8 Advance After Combat Is there a difference in determining advance after combat between road movement (1/3 for German infantry) and road bonus (1 1/2 times the D#)? Yes, the road bonus is only available to attacking mechanized units following a road during the entire advance.
89 9.8 Advance After Combat The rules say that “The number of hexes a unit can advance when attacking is equal to the number of hexes the defender retreated.” What happens if the defender is retreated? The number of hexes a unit can advance is determined by the hexes retreated as called for on the CRT. A D4 means the attacker may advance 4 hexes regardless of the fate of the defender, within the limits of enemy ZOCs and terrain movement restrictions of course.
117 9.8 Advance After Combat During advance after combat, can an attacker traverse his initial two hexes through the ZOC of the same enemy unit? Yes.
11 9.8 Advance after Combat Is the 1.5 mech road advance bonus applied to MPs or hexes? Per the Road Bonus section of 9.8, “may advance 1.5 multiplied by the number of hexes called for by the CRT”
120 10.1 In General An artillery unit is attacked and the attacker is retreated. Can that artillery unit provide defensive support? No, it has already used it’s combat strength during this game-turn.
5 10.3 Artillery Adjacent to Enemy Units The rules state that Corps Artillery can not bombard or give support if adjacent to enemy units. Since NW only have a 1 hex range they seem to be impotent. But, the following example shows NW units gleefully supporting an attack on a US unit. What’s the story here? Artillery consists of corps artillery and rocket units. There are

separate rules 10.3 and 10.4 for each of these artillery types. (CSW/BW 25)

26 10.3 Artillery Adjacent to Enemy Units May an American Corps Artillery which is in the ZOC of an enemy unit attack that unit in a normal (not offensive support bombard) attack? If so, would its combat factor be halved? What about a German Corps Artillery unit since there is the prohibition against moving and firing in the same turn? The answer to your question is “no”. The other situation that has come up and is similar, an artillery unit that is surrounded that then suffers a CA result. If no other friendly unit can come execute an attack in the next turn, the artillery unit is automatically eliminated.

There is no difference between Allied and German artillery units in these situations. (CS/BW 210)

52 10.3 Artillery Adjacent to Enemy Units Can a US Arty unit which begins the US combat phase adjacent to a German unit provide offensive support in battle #2 if that German unit is retreated/eliminated in battle #1? Yes. The pre-designation of artillery fire and air support during email or PBM play is simply convenience. Either player may request a combat result prior to the designation of support in a following battle. (CS/BW 520)
114 10.3 Artillery Adjacent to Enemy Units What does an OOS Allied artillery unit defend at? DF = [5 * .5 (basic strength)Rounded up] – 1 (OOS) = 2
115 10.3 Artillery Adjacent to Enemy Units What does an OOS German artillery unit defend at? DF = (4 *.5) – 1 = 1
80 11. Aircraft Support Are Aircraft units associated with any particular nationality? No.
86 12. Supply Do ZOCs project off the board to prevent supply being traced through them? No.
42 12.1 Checking Supply Do both players check for supply during the German turn and the Allied turn or just the phasing player? The “Mutual Supply Phase” at the beginning of each player’s turn is used to check both players unit supply status. (CS/BW 469)
41 12.4 Out of Supply Does an OOS US Arty Unit defend with 2 or 3? One is reduced from ER and combat strength when OOS. Allied and German Corps Artillery defend with 2 when OOS and attacked by adjacent enemy units. You apply OOS (-1) first, then halve for being directly attacked, and then round up if necessary. (CS/BW #466)
44 12.4 Out of Supply Can OOS Rocket Units still Bombard? I realize that OOS Corps Arty can’t as they cannot provide Offensive Ground Support, but does that also apply to Rockets? No. OOS rocket units may not bombard. (CS/BW 475)
71 12.4 Out of Supply The rules state that a unit’s ER is reduced by one if out of supply. Per the surrender rules, if a unit has an ER of three or less, the player rolls the die, and if a die roll of 6 results, the unit is eliminated. If a unit has a printed ER value of 4, if it becomes out of supply, its ER is therefore reduced to 3. Must it roll for surrender? Per section 26, only those units with an unmodified ER of 3 or less must roll for surrender.
100 12.4 Out of Supply Can out of supply artillery units provide defensive ground support? Yes.
101 12.4 Out of Supply Can out of supply rocket units attack? No, OOS artillery may not provide offensive ground support.
15 12.5 Air Drops How many air resupply missions are allowed ? The number of Allied air drops is limited only by the availability of air units. (CS/BW 121)
65 12.6 German Supply Shortage If the table calls for a ‘division’ of 2nd SS Panzer Corps to be marked as ‘OOS’, do the two mech regiments count as a division or does a ‘division’ in this context have to be one of the two SS divisions? The PzG divisions were not part of the 2nd SS Panzer Corps. (CS/BW 604)
37 13. Bridges Can you blow a bridge in your combat phase and then rebuild it in the SAME player turn? No, bridge construction is declared during movement while destruction takes place after combat. (CS/BW 420)
30 13.1 Bridge Demolition Can you attempt to blow a bridge both in your own and in the enemy turn? Example: at the end of the German combat phase the US fails to blow a particular bridge (for the second time). Can the US player make a second attempt at the end of the US combat phase? Bridge demolition attempts occur at the end of each friendly combat phase. A player may make only one attempt per bridge per friendly combat phase. (CS/BW 246)
19 13.3 Rebuilding Bridges Is there anything to prohibit the Germans from repairing bridges on the 16AM turn? No. For example, 26/78 could repair the bridge, if 28/110 was retreated away during the German combat phase. Of course, 26/78 could not have participated in combat and must have been declared a bridge builder. (CS/BW 175)
36 13.3 Rebuilding Bridges Can you repair a bridge with an enemy unit in the square on the other side? Yes, as long as that unit is ‘evicted’ during the combat phase so that the ‘other side’ is free of enemy units during the Bridge Construction Phase. (CS/BW 419)
70 13.3 Rebuilding Bridges A unit does a bridge construction. Per an earlier ruling, I’ve been told it MUST advance across. What happens if the hex to be advanced into is fully stacked already? The bridge isn’t built. The bridge building unit must cross the river hexside into the opposite hex for the bridge to be considered built, and overstacking, voluntary or otherwise, is not allowed. Voluntary unit elimination is not permitted. (CS/BW #719)
129 13.3 Rebuilding Bridges Can you advance, as a result of a successful bridge rebuilding, through enemy ZOC? Yes.
12 13.3 Rebuilding Bridges If the constructing unit is alone in its hex, does it have to advance across the river to complete the bridge? The bridge building unit must cross into the vacated hex to complete the bridge. (CSW/BW 92)
27 15. Initial Surprise What about the defensive ground support on 16AM? Is it halved according to the rules, or normal because the 2nd edition rules change the first sentence? The U.S. artillery has full defensive fire. (CS/BW 212)
55 15.0 Initial Surprise For the Allies first turn artillery movement, can they move one hex regardless of cost, or is it strictly one movement points worth? They may move one hex. “A unit may always move at least one hex regardless of the movement cost as long as the movement is not into prohibited terrain, nor across prohibited hexsides, nor from one hex in the ZOC of an enemy unit directly to another hex in the ZOC of the same enemy unit.” (CS/BW 530)
38 15.2 Allied Movement Restrictions It is 16 AM and it is the Allied turn. As you know there are movement restrictions on most of the Allied units this first turn. Well, the idea was, what if an Allied unit with restricted movement made an attack that first turn (specifically the US 2nd Infantry)? If that US unit gained a D# result of some kind, what Movement Factor would the advance after combat be based on? The choice is the restricted MF (three for the US 2nd) or that printed on the counter (four for the US 2nd). Use the normal MF for the advance, ie. four. (CS/BW #441)
92 15.7 Traffic Jams Would corps artillery be an exception to rule(15.7),such that 766 Art. may be allowed to attack 28/109 on 16AM? No.
34 16. Reinforcements There seems to be a loop hole with the conditional German reinforcements: If on the 22 P.M. turn, the Germans cross the Meuse, then on the 23rd bring in the 9th and 15th first, followed by the 10th and 11th. Since the last turn of arrival for 10SS and 11 Panzer is 22PM, it’s not possible for all four mechanized divisions to enter the game.

(CS/BW 358)

109 16.2 Blocked Entry Hexes Reinforcements scheduled to enter at “D” are voluntarily delayed. “D” is subsequently blocked by enemy units and ZOC. Where can those delayed units enter? Per 16.2, they can enter the nearest map edge hex free of enemy ZOC or units OR they may choose to enter on a ‘boxed letter’ road hex on that map edge.
35 17. Victory Conditions For the German Decisive Victory, can units that exit off of the West edge be south of Vierux? or is that stipulation only for the Tactical Victory The location of Vireux is not considered when calculating a German Strategic Victory. (CS/BW 358)
87 17. Victory Conditions Would a supplied German Mech unit in any of the following hexes qualify as being ‘within two hexes of a Meuse River hexside south of the village of Ramet’? HEXES: 3103,3003, 3104, 3004, 3105, 3005 None of these hexes would qualify. Acceptable hexes would include: 3205, 3206, and 3307
88 17. Victory Conditions Would a unit in 3508 be within 2 hexes of a Meuse River hexside? Hex 3508 is within two hexes of a Meuse River hexside south of the village of Ramet.
60 17.0 Victory Conditions 33.3 Describes the conditions for a German automatic victory in the Tournament scenario. What does it mean to exit armor “WEST of the Meuse River”? Does that mean one must exist off the WEST edge of the map or can one exit units 3101 and count such units toward the three required for an automatic victory? West side of the Meuse River means the other side of the river. Hex 3101 would be one of several acceptable exit sites. (CS/BW 554)
128 18. Flanking Attack Coordinated Defense May flanking attack DRMs be realized if some attackers are not attacking ‘through’ Meuse River hexsides? Yes.
102 18.2 Coordinated Defense Are ‘coordinated defense’ benefits assigned at the instant of combat or at the beginning of the turn? At the time of combat.
110 18.2 Coordinated Defense Can defenders qualify for Coordinated Defense if they are separated from the other elements of their division by Meuse River hexsides? Yes.
48 19. SS Panzer Scare If two SS Panzer are involved in one combat prior to 18AM, may two panzer scare rolls take place? No, sorry. Two SS Panzer Regiment are not “scarier” than one. (CS/BW 497)
98 19.0 SS Panzer Scare For purposes of “SS Panzer Scare” situations, what happens when TWO SS armor units are involved in one attack? Only one die roll is made. Two SS armor units are not ‘scarier’ than one.
105 20. Attrition When are units of the 1st SS Panzer Corps, which are inactive on 16AM, first susceptible to attrition? 21 AM.
32 21. Bombardments The Shock rule states that a Defender that is Shocked may also have to retreat, per the CRT.

Bombardments don’t use the CRT. So under what circumstances does a unit that suffers a Shock result actually retreat?

A ‘shocked’ unit may be forced to retreat as a result of the subsequent regular combat that takes place after the bombardment. (The shock result, by itself, does not cause a retreat.)

(CS/BW 322)

90 21. Bombardments If rocket units bombard, can they also contribute their combat factors to the required attack that follows? Per 21.BOMBARDMENTS, “Artillery used to bombard may not provide offensive ground support in the same game turn.”
61 21.2 Procedure Rules section 21.2 details the ‘bombardment’ procedure and indicates that it takes a minimum of 2 rocket or 2 corps artillery to execute this. In the ‘DIE ROLL MODIFIERS’ section it says that using 4 artillery units “(in any combination)” qualifies for a +1 modifier.

Does the ‘in any combination’ mean that one can bombard with 3 rocket and 1 corps artillery?

The first two bombarding units must both be nebelwerfers or both be corps. The additional two may be two nebelwerfers, or two conventional arty, or one of each. (CS/BW 559)
49 21.3 Effects of Shock What is the combat strength impact of being ‘shocked’ while out of supply? Apply OOS effects, apply shock, round up if necessary, and then adjust for Terrain.

Example: An OOS Shocked 6-5-4 infantry would first be cut to 5 and then halved, rounded up, to 3. They would then be adjusted per terrain, i.e., if they were in a town, they would now have a doubled defense of 6. (CS/BW 498)

93 21.3 Effects of Shock Assume that 28/110, strength 5, is both shocked and out of supply while defending Bastogne.Is his combat strength’4′,or’6′? His defense strength is 4.
31 22. Challenging Air Interdiction A German Mech unit starts its turn on a road hex next to and leading to an interdicted road/woods. Its first move is into that hex and it then successfully challenges that interdiction. How many movement points did it expend? The mech unit, which successfully challenged the interdiction, moves at the road movement rate. The unit used ¼ of a MP. (CS/BW 317)
72 22. Challenging Air Interdiction Can one challenge interdiction on a broken road hex? Challenging Air Interdiction may only be conducted in forest hexes by mechanized units.
74 22. Challenging Air Interdiction If a challenge is successful, does the moving unit have to pay the 2 MP penalty? A unit which successfully challenged the interdiction need not pay the 2MP penalty.
14 23. Angriff When is an Angriff a good idea? An Angriff Attack is occasionally useful in cutting off another unit’s retreat route or preventing an opponent from moving units into a victory town hex.
(CSW/BW 92)
25 23. Angriff May an Angriff Attack be used to cross an undefended river hexside? No, unless the mechanized unit attempting to cross the river started its turn in the hex adjacent to that particular river hexside it is attempting to cross. (CS/BW 208)
85 23. Angriff Since an “Attack on the Move” is handled the same as an advance after combat, the advancing mech unit need not stop in the first hex it advances into even if this is in the ZOC of an enemy unit! No, per 23.3 they must stop specifically in the first enemy ZOC they enter
131 23 Angriff Does the Angriff table work the same as the regular CRT in regards to odds above 4-1? In other words, can the attacker go over 4-1 and then have the attack come off at 4-1 or is there a cap at 4-1 and then odds are reduced for terrain? 7-1 or more odds works just like 4-1 or more odds on the Angriff Table. For example, you could have an Angriff Attack calculated at 8-1 odds and broken terrain benefitting the defender would back it off to 3-1 odds.
39 23.3 Results Do you get the road movement bonus in an angriff attack? Yes, you may realize the road movement bonus in an Angriff Attack, providing the advancing units start and end on the road.
(CS/BW #445)
51 23.3 Results Regarding Angriff attacks: I am thinking that an attacker would use this type of attack to “break free” of a defender and move away, preferable into the enemies’ rear. Thus not being forced to follow the defender in a retreat. Am I reading this correctly? Or is the ANGRIFF used to move directly through a defending unit? The intent of an Angriff attack is not to move through a defending unit, but to bypass the unit to perhaps cut off the retreat route of another. It is sometimes useful in surrounding another Allied unit or in gaining ground. (CS/BW 511)
64 23.3 Results What are the implications of an Angriff assault against a unit behind the Meuse? More specifically, given the appropriate river ‘topography’, can the ‘sliding’ mech units cross a Meuse river hexside? No, unless they started the movement phase adjacent to the Meuse hexside and do not advance into the ZOC of the defender. “Mechanized units advancing after an Angriff attack must still abide by all movement, to include river hexsides, and advance restrictions.” (CS/BW 597)
1 24. Leader Units What is a leader’s “Influence” used for? Addressed by 24.2
2 24. Leader Units Is a leader’s “range” measured in hexes or movement points? Addressed by 24.3
106 24. Leader Units Can leaders that are OOS still influence battles and have the ability to release reserves? Yes.
10 24. Leaders Does a leader have to be in the defending hex in order to be taken as a ‘standfast’ loss? Yes, the Leader Unit must be in the defending hex to be chosen as a combat loss.
91 24. Leaders Is it legal to “drop off” leaders along the way during exploitation? Per 24.5 Reserves PROCEDURE: “The leader unit does not have to accompany the reserve unit.” So long as a leader releases reserves in the exploitation phase and has not moved in the movement phase, he may move anywhere he likes (within the limits of his movement capabilities) during the exploitation phase.
62 24.1 Combat Capability Two units are defending in a non-fortification hex. One is shocked by a bombardment. During the ensuing attack, is it possible for the leader to order the unshocked unit to take step losses and ‘hold’ the hex while the other retreats? (In other words, is retreat and/or standfast an ‘all or none’ proposition in non-fortification hexes.) The shocked unit in the non-fortification hex must retreat and may not absorb step losses. The full strength unit not shocked may be ordered by the leader unit to remain in place and absorb a step loss. This scenario would apply ideally to a D1 combat result.
(CS/BW 575)
63 24.1 Combat Capability A defending stack with a mix of shocked and non-shocked units receives a 1D2. Can the shocked unit take the mandatory one step loss before retreating and the stay-in place unit(s) take the two step loss? In a 1D2 result, the mandatory step loss may come from any of the defending units. The shocked units must retreat two hexes, while the unshocked units may remain in place (if within range of a leader unit) and absorb two losses. (CS/BW 577)
119 24.1 Combat Capability What happens when a leader orders a standfast for a battle in which there are multiple hexes involved with his side’s units? The step losses can be assigned to any involved units within the leader’s range. Any units not in range of the leader must retreat.
77 24.1 Leader Combat Capabilities A unit within range of a leader receives a D2 result. Can the unit take a step loss and retreat one hex, or are the only choices retreat two hexes or be eliminated? If a Leader issues ‘Standfast!’ orders, the defender(s) must take all of the combat result as step losses. There is no option to split the retreat between step losses and hexes retreated.
79 24.1 Leader Combat Capabilities If a unit received a D2 and a leader issued a “Standfast!” order, thereby causing the unit to be eliminated, how would this affect the attacker’s advance? Would the attacker be able to make a full two hex advance? How about a D3 result where a single attacker is eliminated via a standfast order? A D4? If the defender is eliminated, the attacker gets full benefit of the D# result, Standfast or not.
116 24.5 Losing Reserve Status Can a unit in reserve status choose to move during its movement phase and thus ‘give up’ it’s reserve status? No.
33 24.5 Reserves Can reinforcements be placed in reserve status? No. (CS/BW 358)
59 24.5 Reserves Can a leader unit be placed in Reserve BY ITSELF? (It would then move ‘unaccompanied’ in the Reserve movement phase.) No. “Non-mechanized units may not be placed in reserve.” Although, in some circumstances, the leader unit may move in the mechanized exploitation phase, it may only do so if it had placed a friendly mechanized unit in reserve. (CS/BW 546)
130 24.5 Reserves May Fuh Escort be put in reserve on the turn it comes in? No. Units not on the map may not be placed in reserve.
121 25.2 Capture Can fuel dumps be recaptured by the Allies after having been initially captured by the Germans? Yes.
96 25.3 Destruction Am I correct in understanding that with the exception of the initial opportunity to blow a fuel depot, each subsequent attempt is to be conducted at the END of each Allied combat phase? Example: say the Allies have a unit sitting on the fuel dump and are forced to”CA”@1-2 odds, surrounded. Would they have to hope to survive the battle before having the chance to blow the fuel? Correct and yes, in the example given the attackers would have to survive the battle in order to try to blow the dump.
111 25.3 Destruction Does the supply status of an Allied unit impact its ability to blow a fuel dump? No.
134 25.3 Destruction Is there an impact on the die roll modifier if the Germans control a
dump at any time between demolition attempts?
No. The modifier is an additional -1 to the die roll for each
“successive” attempt regardless of intervening control by the Germans or the
number of game turns between attempts.
46 27.1 Kampfgruppe Peiper On 17am, if Peiper is using Reserve Movement, may he attack US units which are “engaged” at the end of his exploitation movement? Yes. The Peiper unit must abide by all appropriate rules restrictions and no other German unit may contribute to the attack. The Engaged markers should be removed from both sides units. The original attack need not be fought again. (CS/BW 494)
47 27.1 Kampfgruppe Peiper May other German units in reserve move through a hole created by a 17AM Peiper post exploitation movement combat? No. The onetime Peiper post exploitation movement combat occurs after all reserve movement. (CS/BW 495)
56 27.1 Kampfgruppe Peiper What is the duration of the Peiper benefits, just the game turn, or the whole game? “Kampfgruppe Peiper receives benefits on the 17AM turn.”
75 27.1 Kampfgruppe Peiper If Peiper attacks as part of his special move on 17AM, can unused allied artillery provide defensive support to the defenders? Absolutely, as can unused Allied Ground Support.
86 27.1 Kampfgruppe Peiper What are the restrictions on Peiper’s reserve movement attack on 17AM? Pieper must attack alone, US may commit air and artillery.
113 27.1 Kampgruppe Peiper Is the road movement bonus applicable when calculating how far Peiper can advance after a successful ‘special reserve movment attack during 17 AM? No.
8 27.2 Panzer Brigade 150 In the basic game, rule 15.5 restricts the German 1st SS Panzer Corp’s movement in the 16 a.m. turn. Optional Rule 7.2 gives the 150thPanzer Brigade the ability to attempt to ‘ignore’ enemy ZOC’s in any one turn prior to 19 a.m. Does this Optional Rule supercede the Basic Game restriction on this unit, i.e. — can the 150th attempt to ‘ignore’ ZOC’s in the 16 a.m. turn? Basic Game Rule 15.5 does not allow the Skorzeney unit to enter enemy ZOCs on the 16AM turn, so it isn’t possible to enter an

enemy ZOC and attempt to move through it on the 16AM turn. No optional rule supercedes this. For the sake of discussion, imagine

allowing the Skorzeney unit to attempt infiltration on the opening move. (CSW/BW 35)

18 27.2 Panzer Brigade 150 When can Skorzeny infiltrate? Technically, advance after combat is a function of combat and not movement. The Skorzeney unit may attempt infiltration only during the initial movement phase or the mechanized exploitation phase. (CS/BW 155)
24 27.2 Panzer Brigade 150 May Panzer Brigade 150 attempt to ignore enemy ZOCs while advancing after combat or during exploitation movement? Panzer Brigade 150 may attempt to ignore enemy ZOCs only during the German Movement or exploitation phase, NOT during advance after combat.
123 27.2 Panzer Brigade 150 If Skorzeny starts in the ZOC of an enemy unit, then successfully uses his special move to move into another hex also in the ZOC of the same enemy unit, can he then move to another hex not in the ZOC of the same enemy unit, or is he considered to have used up his move simply leaving the first hex, and is stopped by the ZOC in the hex he moved into?

Example: Skorzeny starts in 1208. 99/393 is in 1308. Skorzeny tries to move from 1208 to 1309 and rolls a 2. Can he now move from 1309 to 1409 (not in any ZOC)?

No, Skorzeny may not make the move described in the example. Once Skorzeny rolls to leave a ZOC, he must finish his move in the first ZOC he then enters.
81 28. Inter-Allied Cooperation If Montgomery is stacked with US units or issues a Standfast to US units, does he trigger the one CRT column shift? No.
112 28.1 British Movement Restrictions May British units, other than 11/29 and Montgomery, retreat across the Meuse if no other retreat route exists? No.
95 29. Random Events # 4 Verviers is selected as the town for the 18AM random event. How many MPs would it cost for an Allied unit to go from Verviers to 2105. 2 MPs.
132 29. Random Events # 1 An Allied unit STARTS in 1506, a Von der Heydte hex, and moves to 1606, a heavy woods hex. These hexes are connected by a road. How many MPs are
expended entering this hex?
2 MPs. The road movement rate cannot be used to enter or exit either Von der Heydte hex.
133 29. Random Events # 1 Do the Von der Heydte Parachute Drops impact a unit’s ability to retreat (or advance) into, out of, or through 1506 or 1507? No. Random event #1, only impacts units’ ability to move through those hexes at a reduced rate. (Note: For advance after combat purposes, these
two hexes cost Allied units 2 MPs and the road rate may not be used to exit into an adjacent road-connected hex.)
17 30. Schnee Eifel Which order do you apply the Schnee Eifel and Road Bonus advance effects? Rule 15.7 prevents the use of the Road Bonus on the opening turn.

(CS/BW 150)

94 32. Combined Arms Does an out of supply armored unit still qualify for purposes of a combined arms attack? Yes.
127 32. Combined Arms Bonus May combined arms CRT shifts be realized in attack that is through Meuse River hexsides? Yes.
118 Weather Does mud have any effect other than increasing the MP for mech and artillery units in clear terrain? No.